top of page

Amplifying Wellness & The 8 Dimensions of Wellness

I am a senior majoring in Public Health with a concentration in Health Promotion and Behavioral Science while minoring in Communications. My platform at The University of Texas at San Antonio focuses on the amplification of wellness. There are eight dimensions of wellness including intellectual, emotional, spiritual, physical, social, occupational, financial, and environmental. Mastering wellness maximizes the human experience. My goal is to effectively and efficiently educate Roadrunners on this matter and enhance their ability to take control of their life for the betterment of well-being through UTSA services.


I thoroughly enjoy the experience of witnessing my growth before my own eyes. I have done extensive research on personal development and growth for the past two years. I have seen exceptional improvement in my mental health and well-being as a whole. For this reason, I would love for others to understand that they have agency over their life and accept that they are the co-creator of their life. I have been able to learn more about different cultures and raise awareness of the importance of wellness and well-being. This experience has increased my empathy, compassion, and vulnerability. Overall, this experience has heightened my passion for helping people and raised my awareness of my people skills.


As a peer mentor, I am able to expose students to valuable services and resources with the goal of enhancing student success. As a result, the student experience is strengthened and positively expressed. As a peer mentor, I have been able to enhance my public speaking skills. I have now been exposed to graphic design. I have learned to successfully advocate for others and myself. By providing a support system, students are able to successfully transition into college. By establishing and strengthening a community, genuine connections are formed in class and outside of class, which can also assist in networking. Providing guidance can increase involvement within the UTSA community. This opportunity has enhanced my credibility as a role model. I am able to increase brand awareness for UTSA by implementing marketing strategies within the UTSA community. This opportunity has shed light on the importance of time management.


By placing myself in leadership positions, I have no other choice but to enhance my organization and time management. This has helped with my academic life as well. By forming a schedule I am able to allocate time efficiently and effectively for other tasks. Ultimately, this is beneficial personally, academically, and professionally. Being well-rounded and open-minded has allowed me to strengthen my impact and influence in a positive manner. Through gained experience with multiple departments and organizations, I am able to provide ideas, suggestions, advice, and recommendations of great worth. This position allows me to form genuine connections and provide representation by solidifying spaces for emotional, social, mental, physical, occupational, spiritual, environmental, and financial support.


I have provided information below to dive deeper into each dimension of wellness.


  • Emotional and mental: The focus on the understanding of your own feelings and understanding how to effectively cope with stress. I encourage emotional intelligence and allowing yourself to expand in that category of life. This impacts you, your decision making, relationships, connections, etc. Taking time to access your emotions is important. Many experiences that you encounter will assist in the development of emotional intelligence.

  • Physical: Maintaining a healthy body and seeking care when necessary. Exercise and increased activity can aid in stress relief. This provides physical encouragement externally and internally, For example, self-esteem, confidence, self-efficacy, etc. Your body does not fail you. People fail their body.

  • Spiritual: Focuses on the development of set values and beliefs that allow you to maintain purpose and meaning in life. Establishing morals and beliefs aids in maximizing the human experience.

  • Intellectual: Focuses on adapting a growth mindset and being open minded when being exposed to new material, experiences, knowledge, and allowing yourself to expand in these areas of life.

  • Social: We are social beings and this can be a large part of who you are and your personality. This focuses on establishing relationships with people. Forming sturdy, genuine connections platonically, professionally, or intimately.

  • Environmental: Focuses on living a lifestyle that is respectful for yourself and others around you and your surroundings as well.

  • Occupational: This is your work, what you do for a living, your career. This focuses on the appreciation of your contribution to your occupational success and occupational endeavors. Many people spend a good portion of their day involving themselves with work activities.

  • Financial: Learning how to successfully manage finances and expenses. Gaining financial literacy is crucial.




Commentaires


IMG_8498_edited.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Do something today that your future self will thank you for. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page